EZGO Battery Charger

MichaelAkers

I'm new to the golf cart world and have a question about charging the batteries. I recently bought a EZGO 36 volt cart that has brand new batteries & that came with a power wise charger. I thought the battery charger would trickle charge but recently figured out it does not. It'll charge the batteries to full but then after some time they start to run down. What is a good charger with a trickle charger on it? I saw the cheaper 5amp trickle chargers for a around $60 and then I saw bigger chargers that ran up to $300+. What do most people use?

MichaelAkers

It does have a meter. Yeah we don't ride it that much so I initially put it on the charger then if I go ride it for a few weeks the batteries are not completely dead but low.

HotRodCarts

Cartaholic
You didn't mention what year your EZGO is or if it's a PDS or series golf cart. If it has a run tow switch you should flip it to the tow position if the cart will be sitting unused. The Powerwise battery charger will not restart after a charge cycle is completed unless it's unplugged and plugged back into the golf cart. If the cart will be sitting unused for months at a time it's best to charge the batteries approximately every 30 days. :twocents:

MichaelAkers

Ok thank you. It's a txt and I think it's 2005 model. I'll just remember to unplug the charger and plug it back in from time to time. I was just wondering if a trickle charger is better on the batteries and if so what brand do most people use?

HotRodCarts

Cartaholic
Trickle chargers are OK as long as you add water to the batteries as needed. I've never used a trickle charger on golf cart batteries so can't really recommend a specific brand. Maybe someone else will jump in with some information on them. Also if your cart is a PDS with a run tow switch always leave the switch in the tow position when you're not using the golf cart.

HotRodCarts

Cartaholic