Solar Lithium Ezgo

EzgoSun

My project is to refurbish a 1996 Ezgo TXT, 36 Volt, with the plans to put a very large solar panel on top with the end goal of having an electric cart that is charged by the sun completely and is powered by Lithium batteries. I grew up around golf and rode in a few carts over the years, so am sure the golf memories will come, once its complete. This cart will not see a golf course, but a remote ranch in the southwest USA where we have 300+ days of sunshine and no utilities.

The project cart came with out batteries, and 3 - 75 w 12V nominal solar panels mounted on an aluminum frame above the roof.

So now I will chronicle the progress.....

IMG_6909.jpg

HotRodCarts

Cartaholic
Interesting project. I'm looking forward to see how the solar powered charging works out with the lithium batteries.

EzgoSun

After a trip from the carwash and into the shop, we installed a 6 inch lift kit in prep for custom 12" rims and aggressive tires. My background is more mechanical so we worked on that first.The floor mat was removed to find 3/4" of clay mud under it over the years and the floorpan rusted.
IMG_7019.JPG
Paint it or replace it. ??? Replaced it with aluminum diamond plate. (Then would get the mat back in place)
IMG_7049.JPG
From the looks of the battery frames they are rusted and corroded but serviceable.
Next would be a hitch to pull wagons around...
What to do with the steel pickup bed on the back? The piano hinge is so weathered and rusted it won't open. Soaked it in PartsBlaster penetrating oil for days. At last broke it loose.
What if it tilted to dump stuff from it?

EzgoSun

IMG_7005.JPG
Hinge fabrication

IMG_7014.JPG
Latch fabrication

IMG_7033.JPG