Builing a High Voltage Golf Cart - Questions

Hogstalker

Hello All,

I'm new to this and wanting to build something quiet and electric based on a later model Club Car platform, lifted and equipped to take moderate punishment in the South Texas brush. Based on my initial observations on different sites, it looks like the Club Car holds the advantage over the Textron EZ Go in that it has the aluminum frame and better steering qualities but a harsher ride. Is this correct?

I was hoping that you guys could possibly give me some good recommendations on a used cart, lift kit, tires etc.

My nickname is OK (over kill) so don't be afraid to offer outrageous suggestions.

The primary objective for this project is 100% off road sneaking up on hogs and euthanizing them. The hog problem on my place has gone from being a fun opportunity to bag something for the bbq pit to an out of control serious problem. I'm clearing some narrow paths through patches of woods which connect small clearings. I plan to maintain these paths with a box blade for optimal stealth but my Cat powered Cub is about as stealthy as a marching band coming through the woods.

I'm intrigued by the bad boy but prefer to build something myself as 4x4 is not neccessarly required. Basically, I just want to use it, abuse it and not worry about babying it or excessive maintenance.

Oh yah, what are your thoughts on 72 volt?

Thanks

I am currently building building a budget boy as I like to call it from a 97 EZGo for turkey huntin. I got a deal on the cart, that is the only reason it is an EZGo. I have done all the body work and paint. I am currently waiting on a Logisystems 700 amp controller and a lift kit to come in the mail. I will let you know how it turns out.
Before building the EZGo i did take it camping at the hunt club for a week to put it through the wringer. Half a dozen 10-13 year old boys couldnt make it quit so it passed my test.

Poolguy74