1999 G16A Starts With Pedal But Doesn't Always Move

Boatcephus

Just picked up our first cart, 1999 Yamaha G16A wanted Gas so I could apply small engine repair experience to it. Seller was up front that "the gas pedal is tricky". Although our test drive went well and I didn't experience any issues engaging the drive. Got it home and it's proving to be about 50/50 whether it will move or not!

The cart will start right up with the pedal, but often won't budge Forward or Reverse. Try again later, maybe it will move, if not - repeat until it moves. The Seller said it is a known issue with the gas pedal.

If this is true, could someone provide a link to the likely areas of concern?

I need to look at things some more in the daylight, but I'm wondering if the pedal linkage may be fine and that there may instead be a problem with that drive clutch engaging. I'm new to the CVT game, however. The Seller admitted to no mechanical ability, so I'm skeptical that the pedal itself is actually the problem.

Thanks!

Zman

Cartaholic
Okay is the brake pedal releasing when you push on gas pedal?
Does the engine rev up but cart does not move?

Boatcephus

Thanks for the response! The brake pedal does release when you press the gas pedal - I see this is Yamaha's Parking Brake setup.
The engine actually doesn't seem to rev very high at all during the attempts where it fails to move. I don't know what is normal with these so I don't know if that's a "Cause" or the "Effect" of the root issue. It's sure not like mashing the gas of my Rhino in Neutral!

This cart has had a hard life, the previous owner used it to push around midget sprint cars at a track and I'm betting there's a lot of worn down components that could use a look.

I like working on things and knew this would be a new challenge. What other info can I provide? Or, Troubleshooting steps to further isolate the issue?

Thanks!

Rstaley

Cartaholic